top of page
Search

One Whole Year (and then some)

Last month, I walked to school as I usually do. My typical route includes a walk through the entrance, greeting the guards, then entering the Kantor TU, or administration office, before heading to my desk in the teacher’s room. This morning was different though, because upon walking into the office, I was rushed by friends and handed a cake, bakpao and ote-ote, while being sung to and congratulated. They surprised me with a little celebration for one year in Indonesia. I’ve found my people in the TU. This includes my uncle, Pak Lin, along with several others like Mas Tri, Mas Singgih, Mbak Sinta and Mbak Wiji. Maybe because these folks are closest to me in age, maybe it’s because they’re a fun group of people. But they are also supportive, and listen to me when I’m having trouble at school. I am so thankful for friends in the TU and for the small celebration we had for my one year in Indonesia.


One whole year. 365 days. Well, technically it’s been more than that at this point, but who’s counting. It’s strange how fast the past year has gone, and it’s sobering to realize how fast the next 13 months are going to go. Realizing that I’m almost halfway through service has made me regroup on secondary projects and prioritize my goals as a Volunteer. There’s also a few other self-realizations I have after one year.




I knew Peace Corps would be hard, but in a different way.

You know when you picture something in your head before you see or experience it, then when it happens you can’t remember how you imagined it before? That’s exactly how Peace Corps feels. Before coming to Indonesia, I knew that service would be hard, and I’ve lived in other countries that are culturally different than the US. But, sorry folks, studying abroad in Europe for a semester is not the same. I knew about culture shock and how it worked. But I didn’t really think about it, you know? I wasn’t sure how exactly it would be hard. What situations would bother me and bring me down? That’s not something you think about before you’re about to move to the other side of the world. You’re beaming with excitement and optimism. Things that surprised me when I came here were learning to say no, having things be really out of my control, and having to work with people that aren’t exactly my favorite. And having people take photos of me constantly. The photo thing is still annoying. Things that haven’t really affected me, which I thought would, are isolation from other Americans, communicating and understanding others, making friends, FOMO (the fear of missing out), and teaching (including lesson planning, communicating with students and counterparts, etc.). One year in, those things aren’t issues that cross my mind.



I've made friends for life.

Not only Indonesians, but Americans. Before Peace Corps, I had a tinge of worry regarding making friends, but wasn’t too concerned about it, since I don’t see making American friends as the point of Peace Corps. However, when you share a mutual experience with people that grew up like you did, in the same country that you are from, it’s easy to bond over those experiences. No one else understands the specific experience I am going through other than my other ID12s.


I had to to leave the US to learn more about the US.

If there’s one thing Peace Corps recruiters are good at, it’s regional diversity. I now have friends from every region of the US, and have met people from Hawai’i to Alaska. And while we are all American, my privileged East Coast self has learned more about what it means to be American. Life on Long Island, with my private schools and new car when I turned 17… that’s not like most of the country. And while everyone has privilege in one way or another, being much more aware of mine, as an American, but as a white, middle class, Long Islander is something I’m much more aware of. Had to leave the country to learn that.


There’s so much I don’t know.

Life’s one big lesson, right? I’ve learned more about the world in the last year than in my 23 years of life before coming here. There’s still so much to learn, see and do.



Be okay with something different, be okay with being uncomfortable.

I would definitely say that I’ve changed a lot as a person. Thankfully, my perspective on many things has changed a lot. Not only a global one, because I’ve experienced a different culture and literally dropped into it, being forced to acclimate. Like I’ve mentioned, I’ve learned more about my country, myself, and the world. Lots of soul searching when I’m not teaching, I guess.


A lot of people have a lot to say about Peace Corps as an organization. We might be seen as neocolonialists forcing ourselves into a community. There may be some truth to that, sure. But for American volunteers, this is an opportunity for us to check our privileges, and as guests in Indonesia, show those in our community how Americans aren’t all godless, white, sexual, rich or violent (those are some of the stereotypes Indonesians have about Americans). It’s also about sharing our stories with Americans that may not have an accurate picture of the country of Indonesia and it’s people (believe me, I’ve heard some doozies from friends and family).


Other things that have been happening around here, you ask?! The new cohort of volunteers arrived at the end of September, so I had the opportunity to assist in training sessions during their second week of training. Still so fresh and not yet jaded! This is what I was like when I first got here?! My LES classes are in full swing as well. A LES is a small informal class, typically held in someone’s home, for students. I offer a free one during the week for grades, 1-3, 4-6, high school, and I’m starting one for middle schoolers this week. LES is great because I get to teach my own material and there’s no counterparts or national curriculum to follow. We play games and have fun. Secondary projects are also going, going real hard. More info on those when the planning and hard work comes to fruition.


Anyway, those are some recent thoughts about service. For those of you wondering when new blog posts will be posted, no news is good news. I’m spending my time with friends and family, working on projects, and teaching some awesome students. If anything, see my lack of posting as a metric for integration in my community. Sampai jumpa lagi, friends. Here's to another 13 months in this amazing country.



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page